The Chrism Mass



Susan Laielli

Director of Communications


April 4, 2017

For Immediate Release


Diocese to Celebrate Annual Chrism Mass April 11

Gathering of all Priests, Blessing and Consecration of Holy Oils

Venice – Most Rev. Frank J. Dewane, Bishop of the Catholic Diocese of Venice in Florida, will be joined by approximately 130 priests from across the Diocese for the annual Chrism Mass which will take place at 10:30 a.m., Tuesday, April 11 at Epiphany Cathedral, 350 W. Tampa Ave., Venice.

At the Chrism Mass – which is usually the largest annual gathering of Clergy and Faithful most Dioceses have – the priests renew promises made at their ordination. It is an expression of unity of the Priests with their Shepherd, the Bishop of the Diocese.

In addition, 11 priests, and three deacons will be recognized for their 50 or 25 years of service to Holy Mother Church.

During the Chrism Mass, Bishop Dewane will also bless and consecrate Holy Oils to be used in Parishes across the Diocese of Venice for the sacramental life of the Church throughout the coming year.

“The oils to be blessed and consecrated at the Chrism Mass will be used for Sacramental purposes in the lives of the Faithful of the Diocese, which will change souls forever,” said Bishop Dewane.

The newly blessed and consecrated Holy Oils from the Chrism Mass will be first used for the Celebration of the Sacraments of Initiation during the Easter Vigil Liturgy on Holy Saturday, April 15. At that time, 388 catechumens and candidates will enter fully into the Catholic Church at parishes throughout the Diocese and receive one or all the following Sacraments: Baptism, Confirmation, Holy Eucharist.

From Jerusalem to Rome, and to Dioceses around the world, Pope Francis and local Bishops carry out the annual Chrism Mass, which is celebrated on or before Holy Thursday. In the Diocese of Venice, the Chrism Mass is celebrated on the Tuesday of Holy Week to accommodate the priests who need to travel great distances.

In attendance for this special occasion will be religious men and women; seminarians; members of the Knights of Columbus, the Order of Malta, the Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulcher of Jerusalem; Catholic School students; and other faithful of the Diocese of Venice.